Share This Page

Abbreviations and Acronyms 

AICTE         :   All India Council for Technical Education

AISHE         :   All India Survey on Higher Education

AIU              :   Association of Indian Universities

API              :   Academic Performance Index

ASER           :   Annual Status of Education Report

AYUSH       :   Ayurveda, Unani, Siddha and Homeopathy System

BCI              :   Bar Council of India

B.Ed.            :   Bachelor of Education

B.A.             :   Bachelor of Arts

B.Sc.            :   Bachelor of Science

B. Pharma    :   Bachelor of Pharmacy

BRCs           :   Block Resource Centres

CABE          :   Central Advisory Board of Education

CBSE           :   Central Board of Secondary Education

CCE             :   Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation

CCH             :   Central Council of Homeopathy

CCIM           :   Central Council of Indian Medicines

CEHE          :   Council for Excellence in Higher Education

COA            :   Council of Architecture

CLASS        :   Computer Literacy and Studies in Schools

CSO             :   Central Statistical Office

CSIR            :   Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

CWSN         :   Children with Special Needs

DCI              :   Dental Council of India

DEC             :   Distance Education Council

DEO             :   District Education Officer

DIET            :   District Institute of Education and Training

DISE            :   District Information System for Education

U-DISE        :   Unified District Information System for Education

DPEO          :   District Primary Education Officer

DPEP           :   District Primary Education Programme

ECCE           :   Early Childhood Care and Education

EGS             :   Education Guarantee Scheme

FIDC            :   Faculty Induction Development Cell

GDP             :   Gross Domestic Product

GER             :   Gross Enrolment Ratio

GIS              :   Geographic Information System

HEIs             :   Higher Education Institutions

ICAR           :   Indian Council of Agricultural Research

ICDS            :   Integrated Child Development Services

ICSE            :   Indian Certificate of Secondary Education

ICT              :   Information and Communications Technology

IEC              :   Indian Education Service

IEDSS          :   Inclusive Education for Disabled at Secondary Stage

IGNOU        :   Indira Gandhi National Open University

IME             :   Institute of Management and Engineering

INC              :   Indian Nursing Council

IISc              :   Indian Institute of Science

IIT                :   Indian Institute of Technology

IITB             :   Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay

IITD             :   Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

IITM            :   Indian Institute of Technology, Madras

IIIT              :   Indian Institute of Information Technology

IT                 :   Information and Technology

IPRC            :   Identification, Placement and Review Committee

IQA              :   Internal Quality Assurance

IRAHE         :   Indian Regulatory Authority for Higher Education

JNVs            :   Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas

JSS               :   Jana Sikshan Sansthan

KVS             :   KendriyaVidyalayaSangathan

MCI             :   Medical Council of India

MCQs          :   Multiple Choice Questions

MDMS         :   Mid Day Meal Scheme

MGDS         :   Millennium Development Goals

MHRD         :   Ministry of Human Resource Development

MIC             :   Modern Indian Language

MI                :   Micronutrient

MME           :   Monitoring, Management and Evaluation

MOOCs       :   Massive Open Online Courses

MSDE          :   Ministry for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

MWCD        :   Ministry of Women and Child Development

NAA            :   National Accreditation Agency

NAAC         :   National Assessment and Accreditation Council

NAEP          :   National Adult Education Programme

NAS             :   National Assessment Survey

NBA            :   National Board of Accreditation

NCVT          :   National Council for Vocational Training

NCERT        :   National Council for Educational Research and Training

NCFTE        :   National Curriculum Framework for Teacher Education

NCTE          :   National Council for Teacher Education

NER             :   Net Enrolment Ratio

NET             :   National Eligibility Test

NGO            :   Non Governmental Organisation

NIOS           :   National Institute of Open Schooling

NIT              :   National Institute of Technology

NLM            :   National Literacy Mission

NLHE          :   National Law for Higher Education

NPE             :   National Policy on Education

NPNSPE      :   National Programme of Nutritional Support to Primary Education

NRAHE       :   National Regulatory Authority for Higher Education

NSDA          :   National Skill Development Agency

NSDC          :   National Skill Development Corporation

NSQF           :   National Skills Qualification Framework

NUEPA       :   National University of Educational Planning and Administration

NVS             :   Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti

ODL             :   Open and Distance Learning

OECD          :   Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

PCI               :   Pharmacy Council of India

PTR             :   Pupil Teacher Ratio

PWD            :   Persons with Disabilities

Ph.D.            :   Doctor of Philosophy

QCI              :   Quality Council of India

RCI              :   Rehabilitation Council of India

RFLP            :    Rural Functional Literacy Project

RMSA         :    Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan

RTE             :    Right to Education

RUSA          :   Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan

SC                :   Scheduled CastesSCERT        :   State Council of Educational Research and Training

SDGs           :   Sustainable Development Goals

SDCF           :   Single Data Capture Format

SET              :   State Eligibility Test

SIET            :   State Institute of Education Technology

SMCs           :   School Management Committees

SOUS           :   State Open Universities

SRCs            :   State Resource Centres

SSA             :   Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan

SSC              :   Sector Skill Council

ST                :   Scheduled Tribes

Page last modified on Thursday July 7, 2016 17:09:28 IST

Share This Page